Who We Are

The Indigenous Peoples Major Group

Indigenous peoples have been engaging in relevant processes on sustainable development since the Earth Summit (Rio Conference) in 1992. The main advocacy agenda of indigenous peoples in these processes are the respect, protection and fulfillment of the rights of indigenous peoples as affirmed by the UN Declaration on the Rights of indigenous Peoples as well as the full and effective participation of indigenous peoples in the development, implementation, monitoring and review process of actions plans and programmes on sustainable development at all levels. 

The main mechanism of engagement is the Indigenous Peoples Major Group (IPMG) which is a forum for coordination and planning. The IPMG is coordinating the the Right Energy Partnership with Indigenous Peoples, in collaboration with indigenous representatives at the local, national and regional level.


The IPMG Global Coordinating Committee

The Global Coordinating Committee (GCC)  is the coordinating mechanism of the IPMG. The GCC is composed of seven regional focal organizations with designated focal persons and representatives of indigenous women and youth and the two convenors of the IPMG.

The two co-facilitators/co-convenors of the IPMG are Joan Carling for Tebtebba and Roberto Borrero of the International Indian Treaty Council. They are responsible in coordinating with the UN Division on Sustainable Development, the IPMG Global Coordinating Committee, other global Majors Groups, as well as in developing partnerships and collaboration with other institutions.

The focal points for the GCC are listed below. 

GCC CONVENORS International


Name: Joan Carling

Email: joan@indigenouspeoples-sdg.org

Indian Treaty Council (IITC)

Name: Roberto Borrero

Email: roberto@treatycouncil.org



IP Hub Africa

Name: Daniel Olomae Ole Sapit

Email: dolesapit@gmail.com

Skype: danolesapit

Name: Gertrude Kenyangi

Email: ruralwomenug@gmail.com

Skype: gertrude.kenyangi

Name: Hindou Oumarou Ibrahim

Organization: Association des Femmes Peules et Peuples Autrochtones du Tchad (AFPAT)

Email: hindououmar@gmail.com

Skype: hindoudoumar

Name: Basiru Isa Manjo

Organization: Mbororo Assoication of Cameroon (MBOYASCAM)

Email: basiruisa2014@gmail.com



Saami Council

Name: Gunn Brit Retter

Email: gbr@saamicouncil.net



Asia Indigenous Peoples Pact (AIPP)

Name: Patricia Wattimena

Email: patricia@aippnet.org

Name: Gam Awungshi Shimray

Email: gam@aippnet.org



Centro para la Autonomía y Desarollo de los Pueblos Indígenas (CADPI)

Name: Myrna Cunningham

Email: myrna.cunningham.kain@gmail.com

Skype: mirna.cunningham1

Name: Dalí Angel

Email: troglodita_aguacate@hotmail.com

Skype: dalidsita



Little Colorado River Watershed Chapters Association (LCRWCA)

Name: Janene Yazzie

Email: janene.y@sixth-world.com

Skype: nene.yazz



Te Kopu, Pacific Indigenous and Local Knowledge Centre of Distinction of He Puna Marama Trust

Name: Tui Shortland

Email: t.shortland@mokonz.co.nz

Skype: tui.shortland

Name: Lisa Te Heuheu

Email: lisa.teheuheu@gmail.com 



Centre for Support of Indigenous Peoples of the North / Russia Indigenous Training Centre

Name: Rodion Sulyandziga

Email: rodion@csipn.ru

Skype: rodion_ritc

Name: Polina Shulbaeva

Email: pshulbaeva@gmail.com

Skype: polinatomsk



Centro de Estudios Multidisciplinarios Aymara (CEM-Aymara)

Name: Q"apaj Conde Choque

Email: qhapaj.cnde@gmail.com

Skype: ghapaj.conde

Name: Petra Laiti

Email: petra.laiti@shs.fi



FIMI (International Indigenous Women's Network)

Name: Tarcila Rivera

Email: presidencia@iiwf.orgtarpuy@chirapaq.org.pe

Name: Maria Manuela Sequiera

Email: m.sequiera@iiwf.org